Octatonic Scale = Diminished Scale Theory Things   William Wieland
An octatonic scale is an 8 tone scale
which alternates steps & whole steps...
(   W     W     W     W )

...or whole steps & steps.
( W     W     W     W   )

In jazz, the octatonic scale is called the
diminished scale. It is created with 2 diminished
seventh chords. Compare the following pitches
to the first scale.

Only 3 octatonic (or diminished) scales exist:
This diminished scale
sounds great with a C7b9,
C7#9, C7#11 or C13.
1st 4 notes of C minor and
1st 4 notes of F sharp minor
(C and F sharp are a tritone apart.)