Piano Compositions William Wieland
Orpheus and Eurydice (2013)
Eurydice's DeathProfound Sorrow (first two thirds, i.e. bars 1–56)
Descent to the Underworld
The River Styx (incomplete portion of Hades)
Orpheus's Music, pp. 1 & 2   Orpheus's Music, p. 3
Eurydice VanishesProfound Sorrow (the first and last thirds, i.e. bars 1–28 and bars 57–end)
The first movement, Bliss, is a piano adaptation of an overture composed in 2009 for the play eurydice by Sarah Ruhl. It was originally scored for flute, clarinet, alto sax, horn, trumpet, trombone, tuba and piano.
Dance in E flat major (2007) is a piano transcription of a wedding dance composed for Shakespeare's As You Like It. It was originally scored for flute, clarinet, piano and cello.
Toccata—sospeso (2007) is a revision of Two Movements (1994). It is constructed of cross rhythms and 013 sets. Audio Excerpt (MIDI file)
Phrygian Fantasy (1983) won a student competition which encouraged me to consider composition and theory as career choices. It was an assignment for class piano when I was a freshman music major. Phrygian Fantasy won the 1983 North Dakota Music Teachers Association Collegiate Composition Contest and the 1983 Music Teachers National Association West Central Division Collegiate Composition Contest.